Newcastle Triathlon

The Newcastle Triathlon

On the 19th July I will be taking part in the very first Newcastle Triathlon. This was due to take place in Newcastle with the swim being in the Tyne and the cycling and running around the edges of the City. You may think that the last place you’d want to swim is in the River Tyne but I have to say I was really looking forward to it. Unfortunately due to a recent incident involving some swimmers not connected with the event, the Port of Tyne Authority have withdrawn their permission. In this event the trithlon has been moved up to Northumberland and will now be based around Woodhorn Colliery and the QEII lake.

Newcastle TriathlonI am entered into the standard distance triathlon which entails a 1500m swim in the lake, a 40k bike ride and a 9k run. These are all distances that I am very comfortable with and I am hoping for a good time. Having said that, it will be a great test of where I am with my training to date as I haven’t done a standard triathlon since 2011.

It is 13 months now until I undertake my main challenge, 7 iron man distance triathlons in 7 consecutive days across the UK and it really is now that I must start to raise the bar in training. In my last post I spoke about joining up with others in order to stay motivated and listen to advice. But, I am also keen to raise awareness of my challenge in order to hit my charity target of £50,000 by the end of next year. With a little under 18 months left I haven’t even reached the £1,000 mark despite ‘shaking the bucket’ for a number of months and for quite a few events so far. I realise that there are so many requests from so many charities and that I have a lot of competition. I will need to address this.

Thank you very much to those who have already donated. Your support helps to keep me going!

If you haven’t donated yet then PLEASE do so by visiting www.virginmoneygiving.com/7days

Roll on Saturday 19th July

Follow on facebook and twitter for regular updates and to join in the banter! There are plenty of links on this page to help you find your way. Don’t forget to retweet and share.

One thought on “The Newcastle Triathlon”

Leave a Reply

