I’m NOT Fit Enough!!

When speaking to people about my #7days7irons challenge the comment I get the most is ‘you must be fit’! And it always comes as more of a statement than a question. Like everyone just expects that I am fit enough, right now, to do 7 iron distance triathlons in 7 days.

It was July 22nd 2013 when I came up with the idea for the challenge and the reason for setting the date 2 years in advance was to gain the fitness and endurance as well as the mental capability to be able to do it.

Even with 1 year to go I am uncertain whether there is enough time get physically prepared. It’s totally unchartered territory and I do not take lightly the amount of effort, determination and commitment needed over the next 14 months. I am a full time working husband and dad of 2 busy and active kids. I have the same commitments as most of you reading this. Sometimes I just don’t have the time to squeeze in an extra run session, get out on the bike or I have to bin a planned swim because I can’t get finished at work in time…you get the picture. This is real life and I’m glad of it. It’s the reason I write these posts.

If I was a sponsored full time athlete with hours to train every day then I would have probably done my challenge by now. I certainly wouldn’t have as good a story to tell would I?

It is this real life adventure that I hope will inspire others to get up and get active. I don’t expect everyone will want to swim 2.4 miles, cycle 112 miles and run a marathon everyday for 7 days in a row but a 5k run a 20 mile bike ride or a 500m swim is in the grasp of most people.

I went from being able to run for 2 minutes without stopping in 2010 to where I am now. If I can do it then so can you.

So, am I fit enough? No, not yet. In fact, right now I’m knackered. I’ve got a 100+ mile bike ride, The Virgin Money Cyclone in a week and a half and I’m not even sure I’m fit enough for that but I know it will make me fitter. I’m doing it as a ‘training event’ as it’s rare that I would get the opportunity to do this kind of distance in normal training circumstances.

20140611-094728-35248612.jpg

So, to see if I can get fit enough follow the journey and share this with your connections on Facebook and Twitter using the links…

Thanks
Jason

2 thoughts on “I’m NOT Fit Enough!!”

  1. Haha, an absolutely crazy challenge, love it!
    As long as you keep on tri-ing, day-in day-out, then you should be able to make it! Just don’t aim for a sub-10 finish for all 7 of them 😉

    1. Wise words Stefan and you’ve hit the nail on the head. The event, for me, is about doing the distances in a nice and easily attainable finish time whilst having enough time to refuel and recharge.!!

Leave a Reply

