The Newcastle Triathlon

Looking Forward to Newcastle Tri

My very first triathlon was the Ashington Sprint in 2010. It was intense! I had trained as hard as anyone with a prolapsed disc could train. After a fast swim I took to the short 20k bike route which put a lot of pressure on my back. By the time I got to the run I was sore and my back very stiff. In the last kilometre the realisation of what I had accomplished overwhelmed me to the extent that I had a few tears. I have since heard other stories of tearful race endings.

That first event will always be special because of what it represented after 20 years of back trouble.

I have never looked forward to another event in the same way as I did with Ashington. That is, until now.

A couple of months ago I saw a tweet announcing that 2014 would see the very first Newcastle Triathlon. As a passionate North Easterner and an amateur triathlete this news was very welcome. The chance to swim, bike and run around the Newcastle and Gateshead Quaysides and darting under or over the iconic bridges is, I think, one of the best triathlon opportunities that 2014 has to offer. It may not be a technically demanding course, I see from the maps on the official Newcastle Triathlon Website that the course is fairly flat, but that matters not. The organisers, VO2 Max Racing Events, have made this a hugely inclusive event with a Beginners Tri category, Sprint an Standard distances as well as a the Winn Solicitors Corporate Challenge. This really is a triathlon event for everyone. Personally, I have entered the Standard Distance event…I can’t wait!

If you haven’t taken part in a triathlon before but have always wondered if it is for you then I would urge you to get involved in this. When registering you can also order a training plan and book onto a ‘Try a Tri’ event before the big day. I believe that general entry opens on the 15th November. If you pre-registered then you are guaranteed a place until the 15th as long as you go onto the website and complete the application with payment.

I look forward to seeing you there.

3 thoughts on “Looking Forward to Newcastle Tri”

Leave a Reply

