It’s Going Swimmingly!

A Rough Ride at Sea

I haven’t been swimming for almost 3 weeks. That’s a long time for me. I must have been swimming 2 or 3 times a week for the last 6 months and so several days off makes a real difference.

Thankfuly the breathing is still there, the running is certainly enhancing the cardiovascular system and I was impressed by how much easier the lungs could deal with swimming today. The arms however were not into it! My lack of training for this disciupline over the last few weeks had taken its toll and the upper arms and shoulders particularly took the brunt!

On a lighter note, for all it was a very bumpy North Sea and I took on a lot of unwanted sea water (omnidirectional breathing ain’t good), I still really enjoyed it. I reckon I am a bit like a dog who has been let off the lead in a field for the first time in weeks. I really went for it, enjoyed the air, the spray, the cold and the chance to splash around again (the splashing is just how I swim – not intentional).

rough-seas-1 It wasn’t this rough but it felt it!

I bumped into a chap who I have spoken to many times over the phone regarding work. He had been out for a sea swim too. Just over a month ago he was part of a team who swam the English Channel in relay and raised over £7,000 for the Teenage Cancer Trust. I stand in awe of people like this and it is these adventuous people who push themselves to achieve great things that inspire me to keep going.

By the way…a quick weight check – Down to 13 stone 3lbs. Very happy with steady weight loss.

Leave a Reply

