Do It Anyway

20130903-214937.jpg

In my last post I mentioned that I had run further at the weekend than I had done for years. This surprised me and inspired me.

So I got to thinking about the Great North Run and whether I could somehow get my hands on a late entry. It turns out that I have more chance of winning the Lottery jackpot twice in a row!

I was a little disheartened but, as I had never entered it anyway I shrugged my shoulders and tried to forget about it. Perhaps I could enjoy it, as usual from the comfort of my sofa.

Then I had a brainwave. I could run it anyway. I don’t mean I would try and slip into the mass of runners un-noticed without a number on, take a goody bag at the end and enjoy all of the hospitality for free. I simply mean that I could choose my own route and go out and do a half marathon of my own on the same day.

There’s nothing to stop me taking to the road and doing what I feel I am capable of. Now I’m not suggesting that you do the same. You must consider your own fitness levels and your ability. However, you could still go out and have a run of any distance couldn’t you? You don’t need an entry form and its free. Sure, it would be good to be involved in the real thing but if you can’t then don’t mope. Watch it on TV, get some inspiration and then go for it! I can’t promise you a Red Arrows flyby but I can promise you will feel a great sense of achievement.

This post is not intended to be taken as advice, you run and exercise at your own risk.

Leave a Reply

